A life in pages

As far back as I can remember, I have always had a love for books – not necessarily just reading books, but books themselves  – their feel, their smell, their look.  I remember my cousin coming to visit with her parents, every time she’d come over she would take out my copy of The Secret Garden and read to me. I loved that story. One of my favorite quotes from that book is “If you look the right way, you can see that the whole world is a garden.”

Today I was laying on my bed staring at my bookshelf (something I do at times) – I got to thinking about that quote and came to the revelation that if you look the right way, you can see that the whole world is a bookshelf. That thought revealed to me why I love reading and books the    way I do.  Each book is a different place, a chance to travel to a different world, a different life, a chance to learn something new, re-live a memory, motivate me and to find inspiration. They are my form of travel or vacation.

Some of my favorite books to date include: The Alchemist – an inspirational story about realizing your dreams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – a flat out silly, quirky story about escaping the “end of the world” and The Five People You Meet In Heaven – a story that explores the connections we make in life and what they really meant for us.

I am glad to have had this “ah ha” moment today, I look forward to many more as I travel through the pages and chapters of my life’s book.

Leave a Reply

